UCT Convention Highlights 2021

Nearly 160 UCT members enjoyed the safety and comfort of their homes while taking part in the 2021 UCT virtual convention held via Zoom and conference call on June 19 to discuss the business necessary to keep our organization running seamlessly for another year. The following are some highlights that came out of the convention.

2021-2022 UCT Board of Governors elected
The UCT Board of Governors for 2021-2022 was elected and installed during the virtual convention. Board members are:
UCT President – Dianna Wolfe, Wisconsin
UCT Vice President – Kenneth Milliser, Ohio
UCT Chairman of the Board – Mary Applegate, Southeastern
UCT Secretary-Treasurer – Rick Redman, Mississippi-Louisiana
UCT Director – Stanna Funk, Colorado-Wyoming
UCT Director – David Van Order, Ohio
UCT Director – Bernie Regenbogen, Atlantic
UCT Board of Governors – Dave Syrota, ACT-UCT
UCT Board of Governors – Thomas (Butch) Liebaert, Wisconsin
UCT Chaplain – Curtis Barnes, Wisconsin

Amendments and resolutions to the UCT constitution & standing orders
Thirteen amendments primarily clarifying and cleaning up wording and terminology and adding information about utilizing technology to conduct meetings were passed during the convention. In addition, 30 resolutions to the standing orders pertaining to title and terminology changes and new media technology were passed.

Outgoing officers receive honors
Outgoing UCT Secretary-Treasurer Steve Desselles received his past international president honors during the convention, as did outgoing UCT Board of Governors Member Glenn Suever. Both were recognized for their dedication and service to UCT. New UCT Director Bernie Regenbogen was also honored as a Past UCT Chaplain.

UCT recognizes member achievements
Despite lockdowns due to the COVID-19 pandemic, several of UCT’s local councils soldiered on during the 2020-2021 membership year and earned medals of honor. Our Medal of Honor Program recognizes and rewards councils that go above and beyond in volunteering and engaging in community service projects. Congratulations and great job to the councils that participated this year:

Platinum Level ($750)
Sudbury, Ontario Council 1051
Columbus, Ohio Council 1
Lincoln, Nebraska Council 104
M.J. Terapak Council 144, Columbus, Ohio
Fraternal Council 380, Jackson, Ohio

Gold Level ($400)
Buckeye Council 2000, Columbus, Ohio

Bronze Level ($100)
Sherwood Park, Alberta Council 1022
Gem City Council 3, Dayton, Ohio
Capitol Council 95, Springfield, Illinois
Alliance, Ohio Council 261
Regina, Saskatchewan Council 266
Logansport, Indiana Council 354
Glenboro, Manitoba Council 943
Minnedosa, Manitoba Council 926

Newsletter contest winners announced
UCT councils use a number of channels to communicate with their fellow members – websites, social media, email, and the tried-and-true council newsletter. Each year we hold a newsletter contest for those councils publishing them. When applicable, first, second and third place is awarded at both the regional and local council levels. The local council newsletters are judged in two divisions: 199 members or fewer and 200 members or more. Winning councils receive cash prizes.

The regional council newsletter contest winners for 2020-2021 are:

First place – Manitoba-Saskatchewan Regional Council ($100)
Second place – ACT-UCT Dominion Regional Council ($75)

The local council newsletter contest winners are:

199 members or fewer
First Place – Edmonton, Alberta Council 1016 ($100)
Second Place – Sudbury, Ontario Council 1051 ($75)
Third Place – Thunder Bay, Ontario Council 1039 ($50)

200 members or more
First Place – Lincoln, Nebraska Council 104 ($100)
Second Place – Racine, Wisconsin Council 337 ($75)

Safety poster contest winners awarded
Due to the pandemic and the lack of in-person regional sessions, there were only 14 entrants in this year’s safety poster contest. We applaud those student artists who participated. We want to keep this program alive and will continue to judge posters on the international level with the hope that we will be back to our pre-COVID participation rates in the next year or so.

Posters submitted this year focused on such standards as water, home, and fire safety as well as the special issues of social media bullying, the dangers of texting and driving and human trafficking, and the importance of masking up. This year’s winners are available to view at:

 Our thanks to all the councils and individual members who went above and beyond during this most difficult membership year to serve their communities and UCT when it was so desperately needed. You certainly made a difference – and we appreciate it. To view our special thank you to these members, play the video below.

UCT Heaston Scholarship Program recipients announced
The UCT Heaston Scholarship Program was established in 2013 to help high school graduates achieve their dreams of a college education. A major criterion for the scholarships is for applicants to show evidence of overcoming personal obstacles to achieve their goals. We’re excited to announce this year’s recipients. Congratulations to:

Jonah Mougoue, Birmingham, Michigan – $6,000 per year for four years. Attending Columbia University, New York, New York.

Leah Stevenson, Shoreline, Washington – $3,000 per year for four years. Attending Westminster College, Wilmington, Pennsylvania.

Jenna Green, Southington, Ohio – $3,000 per year for four years. Attending the University of Toledo, Toledo, Ohio.

Ann Marshall Scholarship Program grants its first awards
Scholarships of $500 each were awarded to 34 students this year from the United States and Canada for a total of $17,000 through the Ann Marshall Scholarship Program. While first-year disbursements might seem small, we hope to be able to award more to each recipient in the future as the program grows.

The Ann Marshall Scholarship Program is designed to be self-sufficient, and these scholarships are possible thanks to donations from individuals, UCT local and regional councils, and memorials and gifts. All contributions large and small are appreciated as they benefit the children and grandchildren of our members. Donations may be sent to UCT, Attn: Anita Neal, 1801 Watermark Drive, Suite 100, Columbus, OH 43215.

The list of 2021 Ann Marshall Scholarship Program scholarship award recipients is available at: https://www.uct.org/uct-in-action/scholarship-programs. Congratulations to everyone!